My Cross Country Solo Adventure

Standard

 

photo

Sorry, this week’s posts will have nothing to do with dating or romance. Giving that topic a break for a bit, lol!

As I start this long cross-country journey of 2,742 miles today, I can’t help but think that I am channeling my Dad who transitioned over 4 years ago. He made his only solo cross-country trip when he was about my exact age. It’s a strange alignment. I feel like he’s re-living through me now since he is non-physical. Lookin’ out for me at every passing mile.

I’m goin’ back to Maui. Granted, I am taking the long way there, lol! This is a once in a lifetime opportunity. My son is already in Hawaii so I can do this drive without worry for his safety or comfort. I am totally loving this alone time. Although in the midst of my 34th repetition of Pit Bull’s “Time of Our Lives” I wondered if I shouldn’t be meditating instead of singing at the top of my lungs. (Or maybe they’re the same thing, lol) I just drove 9 hours today from Pennsylvania to Ohio.. Traffic was Awesome! (If traffic can be awesome) OK, I hit a lil traffic leaving Philly so it delayed me 20min. And of course, there is ALWAYS something one forgets. I forget my iPod charger wire! A real panic at a rest stop when I realize this. No worries, my music plays in the “unlit” mode. I stop in Western, PA at a Walmart & get one for the road.

photo (3)

Western, PA seemed to go on & on. This pic was about 2 hours into my drive. It rained all the way through the farmlands of Pennsylvania. Still scenic & I appreciate the idyllic red barns and grain silos. The rolling hills are pretty and break-up the monotony of flat road.

Then suddenly as I cross the Ohio state line and this pretty bridge spanning the Ohio River…

 

 

0820151405_0001

…the clouds give way to sunshine! And the drive to Columbus is gorgeous. I’m enjoying the heck outta this drive. Even the rain provided an event. Today, overall, was a stellar start to this week-long trek across our fair nation!  And I reward myself with a sunset dip in the pool at the hotel here in Ohio!

0820151806

On to St.Louis, MO tomorrow to visit a dear high-school girlfriend 🙂

Leave a Reply

